top of page

Day Twenty-Three – Theodore Roosevelt National Park, North Dakota to Minneapolis, Minnesota

Up early again, we got on the road this morning to start our full day of driving. Hubby has been asking if and when we will ever see an interstate again (since we’ve been on backroads for weeks), and today is the day. We will spend the entire day driving east on I-94. We stopped in the campground on the way out to drop off some recycling. We drove slowly as we exited the park, hoping to see more wildlife, but we didn’t. On I-94, I got up and turned on the generator to make coffee. I’ve read that some RV-ers absolutely refuse to run the generator while driving, but we do on occasion for a few minutes when we need to run something like the microwave, toaster, or coffee maker. (Our campground this morning didn’t allow generators until 8:00 am and we left before that). After I finished making coffee and bagels, I settled back in to my navigator cockpit seat and planned our route for the day – I 94 east all the way to Minneapolis. Well, that was easy. Now we’re in the middle of North Dakota looking for a fuel stop in Jamestown. The kids have watched a movie and are now working on homework. I doubt I’ll have any more updates for today, but we’ll see. After lunch, I’m going to work on editing the photos I took yesterday so they are ready to post to the blog. Perhaps tonight we’ll be in a campground with good wifi and I can post these updates!

Sigh – the wifi in the campground was terribly slow, so I didn’t get to update anything. Oh well, at least I can catch up on the writing part and just post it later – sorry, everyone who was trying to follow this day-by-day. I did finish editing the photos after lunch and by 5:00 pm, we arrived at our KOA northwest of Minneapolis. We checked in and drove to our spot. Right behind us was a 2012 Monaco Vesta – one of the coolest motorhomes ever made. It was the 36-foot version. I’ve been stalking those motorhomes on the internet for several years now. I always check rvtrader.com to see who has one for sale. They are sleek and modern front end diesels on a lower chassis. The interior looks like an Airstream and the exterior is sleek and modern too. After settling in, hubby and I took a walk and I couldn’t wait to walk by it and talk to the owner. When we approached it, I saw that the owners were sitting outside and I could barely contain my excitement. I asked if they loved their Vesta and they said yes. We talked for them for a few minutes and they even let us peak inside – it is such a cool ride! Monaco stopped making them after the 2012 model year because the chassis company stopped making the chassis – grrrr. I wish SOOOOO much that someone else would make something similar before we upgrade in a few years! Even after studying these rigs for a few years, I’d never seen one in person, so it was a special treat for me. I should have taken pics, but I didn’t. . .

After our walk, (while the kids were swimming in the pool) we made dinner – tilapia and veggies. The kids weren’t thrilled but on our second-to-last day of the trip, we didn’t have many dinner options left. After dinner we practiced softball and soccer with the kids and then played a few hands of Rook before our showers. Now that I’ve finished updating this post, I can head to bed. Tomorrow, we’re driving about 6 hours from here to Cary, Illinois (just outside of Chicago) to visit some friends. Good-night!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page